forum Deleting ‘Deleted User’ posts?
Started by @Serpentess
tune

people_alt 61 followers

@Serpentess

Is there a way to do this maybe? I’m just wondering, because they can clog up threads, particularly if that person had previously posted a lot.

And, just to double check, Deleted Users are gone completely, as in they can’t come back and post anymore or delete their own replies? That’s correct, yes?

@StarryWolfy flash_on

Honestly, I think it might be nice to eventually archive old threads into an archive forum where it stays dead and no bots can try to resurrect it (like, after 6 months of no one posting it goes to the archives as a locked thread?)
And then maybe we can have a separate search function for said threads and possibly have the search function for active forums back online and functional?

@andrew flash_onAdmin

A lot of times we want Deleted User posts to stick around because, while the user may not be around, what they said might be useful and/or relevant for the conversation.

However, one thing I want to eventually add is more control over threads for the original creator – and one thing that includes is being able to delete posts in their thread. This would be able to help clean up posts where Deleted User posts aren't relevant anymore without having to delete all Deleted User posts automatically.

Being able to archive posts somewhere else is a good idea, also. I'm also planning on making it possible for thread creators to lock their own thread, which might help on the don't-resurrect-old-threads front, too. :)

@Serpentess

Yeah, I get that it’s not always a good idea to delete some Deleted User posts, it just nags at me occasionally because I’m a bit of a neat freak. That’s a cool idea though, and would definitely help. Thumbs-up, big grin.